Jeff Koons: Play-Doh

Play-Doh, 1994–2014. Jeff Koons, American, born 1955. Polychromed aluminum. © Jeff Koons.

Plato in L.A.: Contemporary Artists’ Visions

‘Plato in L.A.: Contemporary Artists’ Visions’, on view from April 18, 2018 through September 3, 2018, is the inaugural exhibition to accompany the opening of the newly reinstalled Getty Villa.

Source: Getty Museum

The exhibition features some of today's most celebrated artists, Paul Chan, Rachel Harrison, Huang Yong Ping, Jeff Koons, Joseph Kosuth, Mike Kelley, Paul McCarthy, Whitney McVeigh, Raymond Pettibon, Adrian Piper, and Michelangelo Pistoletto, and explore the many ways in which they have engaged with Plato’s writings. Individually, these artists have created some of the most thought-provoking works of our time, challenging viewers to reconsider their perception of the world, reflect on their role in society, and strive for transcendent understanding.

The selected sculptures, paintings, drawings, and large-scale installations respond to Platonic concepts, such as the meaning of the written word, dialogue as a form of philosophical inquiry, the nature of reality and how it can be understood in a world where appearances are so often deceiving, while also fostering the ultimate Platonic experience: contemplation.

The exhibition was developed in close consultation with the artists and their representatives. Original works by Joseph Kosuth, Paul McCarthy, Whitney McVeigh and Adrian Piper, have been created specifically for this exhibition and will be shown for the first time. It will also be the first time significant works by major international artists Huang Yong Ping and Michelangelo Pistoletto have been shown in a Los Angeles museum. Lenders range from the François Pinault Collection in Venice, other institutions, and the artists themselves.

Related content

'Breaking News: Turning the Lens on Mass Media' at the Getty (exhibition, 2017)

Share |
All Rights Reserved

RSS Feeds | Site Map | About Us | Manifesto | Contact | Terms of Use | Art Links | ©